Skip to main content

11 things about me

  1. I am a native of south Alabama. I grew up in a very small family oriented rural community.
  2. I am happily married to my best friend Jenny Snow Weaver. My wife Jenny is a stay at home mom, but she also serves as an international educational consultant specializing in web-based learning for elementary students. We have three children ages 8, 5 and 6 months.
  3. I have worked as a waiter, telemarketer, soldier, laborer, fire watcher, nursing assistant, cornea harvester, registered nurse and even a rapper before attending medical school.
  4. I completed my undergraduate studies at the University of Mobile & the University of North Alabama. I served eight years in the United States Coast Guard Reserve.
  5. I received my medical degree from Nova Southeastern University in Fort Lauderdale, Florida where I served as Class Vice-President and the President of the Christian Medical & Dental Association. At graduation I was honored with induction into the prestigious Gold Humanism Honor Society.
  6. I completed my general surgery residency training at the Mayo Clinic in Jacksonville, Fla. and Baptist Health System in Birmingham. I attended the University of Mississippi “Ole Miss” for my Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery training.
  7. I am board certified in General Surgery and Board-Eligible in Plastic & Reconstructive Surgery by the American Board of Plastic & Reconstructive Surgery.
  8. I am an American Indian and an enrolled tribal member. I am particularly proud of my Native American heritage (Choctaw, Creek, Eastern Cherokee descent). I am the first and only Native American to become a Plastic & Reconstructive Surgeon in the country.
  9. In addition to my clinical training, I also completed the New York Institute of Technology & AOA (American Osteopathic Association) Training in Policy Studies program led by Drs. Barbara Ross-Lee the sister of Diana Ross & Hank Chaudhry the President of the Federation of State medical boards.
  10. I have authored nearly a half dozen peer reviewed research articles and my work has been presented at many regional, national and international conferences.
  11. In my spare time I enjoy attending church, spending quality time with my family, playing basketball, coaching my children’s sports teams & discovering new ways to serve others.

Return to Home See All Blogs

This information highlights the services of the HH Health System as well as current health topics important to families. The information is not intended to replace the advice of a physician. Every person is different, so please contact a physician to help you make the appropriate health care decision. HH Health System has made an effort to ensure the accuracy of the information at the time of publication.